The Liverpool Commonwealth Association is a non-profit organisation that represent the interests of businesses (public, private and charities), individuals and groups from a Commonwealth background within the Liverpool City Region (LCR), by acting as a connectivity platform to boost the region’s economy.

The Association acts as an advocate for those who share the values of the Commonwealth Charter by signposting and creating opportunities for development, working collectively towards building a sustainable future for the Commonwealth. 


Liverpool and the City Region have a diverse population, where 60 languages are thought to be spoken by its residents who have an ethnic background from over 100 countries.

The Association is a member of the Royal Commonwealth Society and was formed in 2015 (launched by Lord Alton).

Of particualr importance to the Association is the promotion of a sense of belonging amongst the region’s Commonwealth diaspora communities thus empowering its people to contribute effectively to the region’s economic and social agenda. This will also enable stronger links between the region’s Commonwealth diaspora communities and the Commonwealth of Nations, leading to particular focus on increasing two-way trade, cultural and educational links and any other links designed to enhance the role of the Commonwealth in the strategic plan of the entire Liverpool City Region. The Association also has the wider aim of having Liverpool declared the UK’s first official Commonwealth City and thus promoting the City Region as a Commonwealth Region.

All our work have at its core the promotion of the following Commonwealth values:

1. democracy;

2. human rights;

3. peace and security;

4. tolerance, respect and understanding;

5. freedom of expression;

6. separation of powers;

7. rule of law;

8. good governance;

9. sustainable development;

10. environmental protection;

11. access to health, education, food and shelter;

12. gender equality; and

13. the importance of young people and civil society.

Fifty-three countries are members of the Commonwealth with 2.4 billion citizens of which 60% are under 30 years old. 

Countries span Africa, Asia, the Americas, Europe and the Pacific and are diverse – they are amongst the world’s largest, smallest, richest and poorest countries. Thirty-one of our members are classified as small states – countries with a population size of 1.5 million people or less and larger member states that share similar characteristics with them.

All members subscribe to the Commonwealth’s values and principles outlined in The Commonwealth Charter.

Leaders of member countries shape Commonwealth policies and priorities. Every two years, they meet to discuss issues affecting the Commonwealth and the wider world at the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM).

All members have an equal say – regardless of size or economic stature. This ensures even the smallest member countries have a voice in shaping the Commonwealth.

Countries by region:


Africa (19)


Botswana, Cameroon, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, The Gambia.

Asia (7)


Bangladesh, Brunei Darussalam, India, Malaysia, Pakistan, Singapore, Sri Lanka.

Caribbean and Americas (13)


Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Canada, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Saint Lucia, St Kitts and Nevis, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago

Europe (3)


Cyprus, Malta, United Kingdom

Pacific (11)


Australia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu